Women Directed September

I’ve decided that I will spend September watching only films directed by women. It’s by no means as ambitious a task as A Year With Women, but it is still a conscious effort I want to make (and was partly inspired by Directed by Women). I’ve mostly been trying to mine the films I already have copies of, but I’m going to run out of those soon because there are shamefully few in there directed (or co-directed) by women. Of course, I don’t want to limit my viewing of films directed by women to one month a year, and I want to make more of a conscious effort to actively seek them out in the future, but I thought it was an interesting challenge to set myself for the month. (Note: I’m including only first time watches, not rewatches, but perhaps I’ll try that next time!)

This photo released by Fox Searchlight shows Gugu Mbatha-Raw, left, as Dido Elizabeth Belle and Sarah Gadon as Lady Elizabeth Murray, in a scene from the film, "Belle." The movie releases in US theaters on Friday, May 2, 2014. (AP Photo/Fox Searchlight, David Appleby) ORG XMIT: CAET339

Belle dir. Amma Asante, 2013

I’ve also made a category on here for the films I’ve written about directed by women (not nearly enough) and a list on letterboxd of all the films I’ve seen directed by women (better, but only about 10% of all the films I’ve logged on there).

10DISH_SPAN-articleLarge

The Dish & the Spoon dir. Alison Bagnall, 2011

So far, this month, I’ve watched (I’ve linked my letterboxd reviews):

Paris is Burning dir. Jennie Livingston, 1990

Belle dir. Amma Asante, 2013

The Riot Club dir. Lone Scherfig, 2014

The Dish & the Spoon dir. Alison Bagnall, 2011

The Cake Eaters dir. Mary Stuart Masterson, 2007

Copying Beethoven dir. Agnieszka Holland, 2006

Point Break dir. Kathryn Bigelow, 1991

Lebanese-born American actor Keanu Reeves and American actor Patrick Swayze stand on a beach as Swayze holds a surfboard during the filming of the action movie 'Point Break' directed by Kathryn Bigelow, 1991. (Photo by Richard Foreman/Fotos International/Getty Images)

Point Break dir. Kathryn Bigelow, 1991

Point Break has, without a doubt, been my favourite so far. I still can’t articulate why but it’s brilliant and I loved it completely and utterly. I’m so frustrated at myself for not having watched it sooner – I’ve got so many years of potential rewatches to catch up on!

I’ll probably do another post at the end of the month, as a round up, and might write about some of the films I watch along the way. I’m still working on a more solid posting structure for this blog, but it’s a work in progress. Recommendations are definitely welcome!

Leave a comment