Superman Returns (2006)

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-246

I woke up to the awful news that FOX is remaking (or reimagining) The Rocky Horror Picture Show for TV so I’m going to publish this happy ramble about Superman Returns, which I finally watched last night, to distract myself.

Superman Returns (2006) was a film that I put off watching for a long time, because I’d assumed it wasn’t that good from what I’d heard from others. This was obviously a mistake because I don’t remember the last time I was filled with such pure glee watching a superhero film (and, okay, my movie viewing is a little thin in the superhero department but it still stands). To be a little cliched it made me feel like a child again, filled with wonder and awe and all that jazz. Not just at the visual qualities (though some of the CGI was on the nose even on my small analogue – yes, analogue! – TV so I’m not sure how it rated on the big screen) but the atmosphere of the film, in general, and also at the gentleness of Routh’s Superman.

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-17305

Let’s talk about that, before I go back to the aesthetics. It’s difficult, watching this now, not to compare it to Man of Steel; Routh’s Superman was refreshing after the disappointment I felt in MoS (though I do think Cavill could be a great Superman in other hands) but, of course, it’s a very different film and one that shows a more seasoned Superman. After all, it follows on from Reeve’s performance in Superman I & II, just as the plot follows on from those films. The calmness and, as I said, gentleness of Routh’s Superman was just lovely to watch. It was so upsetting to watch Luthor and his thugs beat a kryptonite sick Superman; I’m usually not that affected by violence in these types of films.

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-2784

I think Routh may be my new favourite superman? I’m not sure, yet. Could anyone really supplant Reeve in my heart? Perhaps they can hold equal billing, but I feel like Routh’s performance is slightly more relatable. As much as his performance – the whole film, obviously – owes so much to Superman I & II it’s less cartoony without resorting to being overly ‘realistic’. The scene with his son at the end made me a little misty-eyed, despite its corniness (I’m assuming, in the planned sequel, there would have been more exploration of that relationship – well, I’m hoping so, anyway, and that Superman didn’t just fly off and leave Lois and their son without trying to connect as a family).

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-9016Back to the aesthetics! The muted tones were gorgeous and made me think of sepia toned photographs (mostly the daylight scenes). The perfect blend of modern and retro styles in the sets and costumes also made me think of Burton’s Batman films. The scenes with Lois & Superman floating together (though I did wonder if Lois could breathe at that altitude), embracing, were breathtaking as was the scene of Superman, sick from kryptonite, falling back to Earth after jettisoning the black crystal mass into space. He doesn’t merely plummet inelegantly, but swoons back delicately, cape fluttering…it was honestly one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen. (Looking at the screencap, now, it’s quite a Christ-like pose, isn’t it?) This probably sounds either absurd or effusive (perhaps both) but I felt compelled to write about it and I tend to get a little cheesy.

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-15559

I really liked Bosworth as Lois. The glimpses of what she was like as a reporter (in the plane at the beginning and following up on the blackout story) were enough for me to get a sense of her determination. Plus, the scene where she dives straight into the ocean, without second thought, to save Superman was awesome. I love when women get to save men and not just because it reverses the damsel in distress trope, but because that’s just what you do when you love someone. (Or when you’re a decent human being and have the capacity to help, I guess.) It makes it more believable for me.

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-9754
The whole cast was great, really. Kevin Spacey as Lex Luthor was genius. And Parker Posey as Kitty Kowalski was pretty fantastic. (But when do I not love Parker Posey?)

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-13931

I’ll try to wrap this up because this ramble has gone on too long (I tried to keep it short!). But I want to add that I loved that everything is resolved without too much destruction or death. It was something I really needed, right now. I’ll be the first to tell you I’m a huge cynic, but I’ll also admit it’s just nice to watch a movie that gives you hope, that lets you believe the bad guy (or gal) can be beaten without having to kill them, the world can be saved without destroying so much of it in the process, and so on. Perhaps it’s hokey, (or maybe not), but isn’t that nice sometimes?

superman-returns-movie-screencaps.com-8629

I’m sad I missed out on this film for so long, but now that I’ve seen it (and it’s become an instant favourite), I shall definitely be watching it many more times. If you enjoyed Superman I & II, I would recommend watching Superman Returns, if you’ve not already. It has its own unique qualities that makes it more than a copycat sequel or pure homage, but it embodies the feel of the Reeve Superman films. Or, even if you’ve not seen them, watch it, anyway. And you don’t have to be a hardcore comic book/Superman afficianado to enjoy it (because I’m not, and I did!)

Screencaps from here.

 

4 thoughts on “Superman Returns (2006)

  1. I’m so glad you watched this! I didn’t see it until after it came out, and was surprised when Sam told me most people hated it. We absolutely LOVE Brandon Routh as Superman, he’s in the latest season of Arrow as Ray Palmer, and does such a great job, but we always see him has Superman 😊

    And Kevin Spacey as Luther is as you said, genius, I wish he’d been able to continue the roll somehow.

    Parker just cracks me up, and I really enjoyed Bosworth as Lois, especially with her son.

    That scene where Superman is beating beat up is probably one of the least violent fight scenes I’ve seen but hardest for me to watch, it really upsets me, and I usually have to turn away, it’s terrible!

    Now I totally want to go home and watch it 💗

    Xoxo

    • Thank-you! 😀 Yes, I can’t believe how many people seemed to hate it. (Although, apparently it did really well at the box office but not well enough to go through with the sequels). I’m really glad to hear that! And I’m super glad I finally watched it and can talk about it with awesome people haha ooh, yes, I saw that he’s in it – I’m halfway through season 2 so nearly up to the episodes he’s in!

      Me too! He was just fantastic. Sigh. Yeah, everyone was really great!

      So glad it’s not just me! I had to hide behind my blanket 😦

      Haha yay! I think I’m going to be watching it many more times, now 😀 thanks for the comment! I appreciate it 😀

      x

  2. Pingback: Top 5 comic book movies | The Sofa Cinephile

  3. Pingback: The Duke of Burgundy, 2014 | The Sofa Cinephile

Leave a Reply

