September 2016 Roundup

september-2016

Bits and bobs or things that made me happy:

-I very much enjoyed Mellisa Benoist talking about her musical themed birthday party!

Favourite August watches:

92rtjn7rsey4xwphz9jhy8tlpyi

I managed to watch a total of 30 films in September. Still doesn’t beat my 32 in January, but a good effort, if I don’t say so myself. (Helped along by a few short films). With a wider base to choose from, I ended up with more favourites than usual, so I’m going to just list them, with links to my letterboxd reviews:

I also kept to my 60s September challenge, not straying even once! (Except for movies out at the cinema, but that allowance was in my original challenge to myself). I doubt I could have kept it up any longer, though, but it was fun.

At the movies

I made three trips to the cinema in September and I saw: Girl Asleep, The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years and Bridget Jones’s Baby.

windmill-theatre_girl-asleep_l-r-harrison-feldman-bethany-whitmore-photo-by-shane-reid

Girl Asleep (pictured above) was my favourite and undoubtedly the best. It’s already in my top films of the year. Eight Days a Week rekindled my teenage love of The Beatles and Bridget Jones’s Baby was everything I was hoping it to be.

Resolutions updates:
Watch more movies made by women.

Including short films, I watched eight films directed by women in September. Girl Asleep, Cléo from 5 to 7 and Le Bonheur (pictured below) were definitely my favourites. I had to order the Agnes Varda films online, but it was worth it. I was hoping I’d get to some of Doris Wishman’s films for 60s September, but I didn’t quite make it. I’ll watch them eventually, though.

hero

First time watches: Go! Go! Go!; Girl Asleep; Lights; Cat Food; Meat Joy; Bridget Jones’s Baby; Cléo From 5 to 7 and Le Bonheur.

Rewatches: none

Watch more Australian films.

Girl Asleep was the only Australian film I watched in September but it’s already at the top of my favourite Australian films, so at least it was a good one!

Write more!

I only wrote up two posts on here in September, but I saved a few of my letterboxd reviews as drafts to polish up! I just have to get around to doing it.

September reading recommendations:

I’ve noticed the less time I spend on social media, the less reading material I have on cinema and the less I know what’s going on in the movie world. This upsets me a bit but I just don’t have the energy for twitter, etc., right now.

New Directors Pantheon at This Cinematic Life

‘Being cute just made me miserable’: Mara Wilson on growing up in Hollywood at The Guardian

Top Films Seldom Feature Characters With Disabilities at Disability Scoop

Save

Leave a Reply

