60 from the 60s

Although I’ve seen more 60s movies than I have films from most other decades, I recently decided I needed to see more of them. So I made myself a challenge list over on letterboxd for 60 films from the 60s I hadn’t seen. I compiled it by browsing the films page for each year of the 60s and picking the top 6 most popular from each year, from 1960 to 1969, I hadn’t seen. I don’t know that I’ll write about each of them on here but, like my 52 Films by Women challenge, I will attempt to write at least a sentence or two over on letterboxd. I might include my progress in my monthly roundups, too.

I did have some caveats for my challenge. No films longer than 120 minutes (or thereabouts) unless I already had a copy or desperately wanted to see the film. This is because my attention span these days is…well, it’s not great and I knew I’d likely never get around to anything longer. Another was no more than one film per director in a year.

I’ve started lists for other decades, too, but I’ll wait until I get through a fair chunk of this before I start publishing them.

The-Magnificent-Seven-in-1960

So far, I’ve only watched The Magnificent Seven (pictured above) from the list (and Sebastian, from my own watchlist of movies I have but haven’t yet watched). I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would – I’m still in the process of writing up my review for letterboxd, and I may do a post on it here, if I get around to polishing it up.

dr_zhivago

The movies I’m looking forward to the most in the challenge are probably: Eyes Without a Face; Cleo from 5 to 7; Doctor Zhivago (pictured above); Belle de Jour and The Odd Couple (pictured below).

the-odd-couple-01

I’m thinking of making this September, Sixties September which will mean, aside from new releases or festival screenings, only watching and re-watching sixties films for the month, using the challenge list as a guideline. Does anyone else like setting challenges like this for themselves? Does it make the film viewing experience better, harder or doesn’t affect it for you at all?

Top 10 1960s | 1960s favourites

Save

2 thoughts on “60 from the 60s

  1. Pingback: TV Tuesday: The Man From U.N.C.L.E. | The Sofa Cinephile

  2. Pingback: August 2016 Roundup | The Sofa Cinephile

Leave a Reply

