May 2016 Roundup

may banner

Bits and bobs or things that made me happy:

-First clips from Xavier Dolan’s It’s Only the End of the World (Juste la fin du monde) have appeared and I’m looking forward to it more than ever. I still have a couple of Dolan’s films to catch up on but he’s definitely one of my favourite filmmakers working today.

-The news of a Harley Quinn movie, which will be a showcase for DC’s female heroes and villains, made me very happy indeed.

-The Craft 2 will take place 20 years after the original – it’s not a remake or a reboot! Huzzah!

Wonder-Woman-1-634x360-600x341

-This cast photo that Patty Jenkins posted to mark end of production on Wonder Woman. Have I mentioned how excited I am for this movie?

-Geena Davis staged a mini A League of Their Own reunion as part of the Bentonville Film Festival.

Favourite May watches:

may crimson peak

I watched some very good films in May but I think my two favourites were Crimson Peak (pictured above)and Strange Days (pictured below). I’ve already written about Crimson Peak on here, and I dashed off a few thoughts on Strange Days on letterboxd.

may strange days

I also really enjoyed finally watching the Peter Ustinov Poirot films! (Death on the Nile pictured below). I’m a big fan of murder mysteries and have re-watched (and re-watched and re-watched) the Suchet series many times, so it was nice to see some of the same stories in a slightly different way. I’d seen bits and pieces before but never watched them the whole way through. Lots of great costumes, too.

may death on the nile

At the movies

may hunt

I thought I’d start including a section for what I went out to see at the cinema. It’s probably not necessary but, as it’s my roundup, I figured why not? If I don’t like it I’ll take it out next month.

I made three trips to the cinema in May, to see: Eddie the Eagle, A Month of Sundays and Hunt for the Wilderpeople (pictured above). The latter was definitely the best but I enjoyed the other two very much, as well. Hunt for the Wilderpeople was actually my 100th new to me movie for the year! A very good film to mark that milestone, I must say.

There were a few I still didn’t manage to see, like The Daughter and The Meddler. I’m hoping to see The Daughter at the Mercury Cinema in a couple of weeks, though. I really don’t want to miss it. I don’t want to miss The Meddler, either, but it’s only on once a day now and it all depends on if I managed to get to the cinema before it ends.

Resolutions updates:
Watch more movies made by women.

may bride and prejudice

I did a really good job with this one in May! In total (including rewatches), I watched nine movies directed by women. My favourite was a three way tie between Strange Days, Bride and Prejudice (pictured above)and South Solitary. Bride and Prejudice was a whole lot of fun! I keep telling myself I hate rom-coms and, yet, I seem to like nearly every one I watch. Hmmm.

may mansfield

First time watches: Strange Days, Step Up, Punisher: War Zone, Bride and Prejudice, South Solitary, Girlfight.

Rewatches: D.E.B.S., Little Women, Mansfield Park (pictured above).

Watch more Australian films.

South_Solitary145681

Only two Australian films made it into my May watches: South Solitary (pictured above) and A Month of Sundays (pictured below). I absolutely adored South Solitary, as I covered in the review I posted and A Month of Sundays was just as good as I was hoping it would be. I love Anthony LaPaglia and I have to admit that it’s very nice to see Adelaide onscreen as Adelaide, instead of Sydney or Melbourne or somewhere else.

680

Write more!

Last month I said I was going to take this section out. For now, I think I’ll use it to post links to what I wrote during May, in case anyone missed something (not including the previous month’s roundup post). This is only my movie-related writing.

Little Shop of Horrors, Director’s Cut

Crimson Peak, 2015

South Solitary, 2010

Directed &/or written by women, June 2016

Reviews on letterboxd

May reading recommendations:

How Hollywood Judges Its Childless Female Characters at Film School Rejects

One female director in DGA’s poll of 80 best films at The Guardian

My Father, Woody Allen, and the Danger of Questions Unasked at The Hollywood Reporter

Get in the Picture: My Adventures in Correcting Yellowface at Home Made Mimi

In a Lonely Place: An Epitaph for Love at Criterion

The Dudeocracy of Film Writers at Women and Hollywood

Made in New York: An Interview With Amy Heckerling at Criterion

Asian-American Actors Are Fighting for Visibility. They Will Not Be Ignored. at The New York Times

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

