Happy Rex Manning Day!

1PLL 00068

Like many others around my age, Empire Records (1995) is a staple of my film diet and a much loved favourite. It’s not just that it taps into the fantasy of working in a cool record store or the super rad 90s clothes. It’s more than the excellent soundtrack and quotable one-liners. More than the underdog triumphing over corporation and anything else you could think of that makes it appealing. It’s also the friends I’ve shared it with along the way: the best friend who introduced me to it when we were 14 and started it all and everyone else I’ve bonded with over the years who love it just as much as I do. There’s a lot of nostalgia wrapped up in the film for me and, I know, countless others. That’s why I keep going back to Empire Records. And that’s why I say: happy Rex Manning Day, everyone! Damn the man, save the Empire!

1PLL 00074

We mustn’t dwell. No, not today. We can’t. Not on Rex Manning day!

1PLL 00070

Say no more, mon amour!

 

4 thoughts on “Happy Rex Manning Day!

  1. Ah I did not know that there was an assigned Rex Manning day! My friends (who live far far away) have been informed and we now plan to watch it together/apart. The wonders of technology.
    We found this film as a random choice at the video store many years ago and have loved it ever since!
    Thank you and a Happy Rex Manning Day to you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

