52 Films by Women Update

I think I was too ambitious to attempt to write about each of the films I watch for 52 Films by Women on this blog. I’ve fallen so far behind and I feel really overwhelmed. So, instead, my aim is to write feature posts on a select number that I feel particularly strongly about and then the updates for the rest will be in my monthly roundups. But I’ll still do a little update, for now, because I already started this post.

The Secret Garden, dir. Agnieszka Holland, 1993

As I mentioned in my January Roundup, I’ve decided to include rewatches in the pledge, but I’m still determined to make it to 52 new-to-me women directed films. So far, my rewatches have been of favourite films (like Wayne’s World and The Secret Garden), but I might revisit a few I don’t remember well, or didn’t enjoy much the first time around. Sometimes, my opinion doesn’t change when I revisit a film, but there have been occasions where a film I hated or didn’t like turns into a film that I love.

tumblr_lp7bijngQG1r0emino1_1280

Wayne’s World, dir. Penelope Spheeris, 1992

If I were to pick a top three of the new-to-me films for this pledge, so far, I would go with: Miss Julie, A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night and Om Shanti Om. They’re all so different from each other, which makes me happy – it’s cool to see women making so many different kinds of movies, telling different stories, etc.

Miss Julie (2014) 33

Miss Julie, dir. Liv Ullmann, 2014

I’ve also realised that seeing every woman directed film out at the cinemas this year is just not feasible for me because of health and finances. I did finally manage to go see Looking For Grace, which I thoroughly enjoyed. If I can see more films directed by women at the cinema than I did last year, then I’ll be happy. (Considering I only saw two last year, both at festivals, I don’t think that will be too difficult). I’m fairly certain I’m overthinking this whole thing, but that’s kind of my schtick. (This whole post is very thinking ‘out loud’).

looking_for_grace_crop

Looking for Grace, dir. Sue Brooks, 2016

Finally, I wanted to write a little about what I’ve observed so far, but I haven’t thought about it much, to be honest. I have noticed that, naturally, women are as capable of making films I don’t like as men are, but that’s really a bit ‘state the obvious’. The women characters, even when they’re not main characters, are almost always that little bit more interesting, which isn’t surprising. I’m fairly certain I prefer romances directed by women, but I haven’t put that to the test, yet. It’ll be interesting to see if I have any better observations by the end of the year.

Most importantly, I’m really looking forward to diving into the rest of the films on my watchlist (I’m keeping it at 100 for now) and seeing where this pledge takes me!

Leave a Reply

