The Bling Ring/Om Shanti Om (52 Films by Women #3 and #4)

bling-ring

The Bling Ring, directed by Sofia Coppola, was the third film I watched for 52 Films by Women. I had meant to see The Bling Ring when it was out at the cinema as Sofia Coppola’s films have always interested me but I never got around to it. I love Coppola’s aesthetic(s) and the worlds she creates.

This is not a perfect film, but there’s so much to enjoy here that it overrides any flaws. The young cast is very good, particularly Katie Chang and Israel Broussard as Rebecca and Marc.

I was totally captivated by their escapades with and without the rest of the eponymous ‘Bling Ring’, and was a bit anxious waiting for them to get found out. It made me think of how easily I can get caught up in the cult of celebrity, myself. (Though definitely not to the same extent).

The Bling Ring is a stylish, fun film and I can definitely see myself revisiting it at some point. Maybe I’ll have a Sofia Coppola marathon, one day.

om-shanti-om1The fourth film I watched was Om Shanti Om, directed by Farah Khan. I haven’t seen many Bollywood films – I think this makes number 3 in total – but I’ve loved the ones I have seen including this.

Om Shanti Om is so infectious. I really got swept up by the songs and acting and sets. It’s very easy to become emotional when watching this.

Even without much frame of reference, I could tell that it both pays tribute to and pokes fun at the Bollywood industry, while it tells the epic tale of love, reincarnation and revenge.

I liked the whole cast but Deepika Padukone was particularly charming as both Shanti and Sandy. Shah Rukh Khan was very funny as Om, too.

It’s left me wanting to see many more Bollywood films! (Recommendations are welcome).

One thought on “The Bling Ring/Om Shanti Om (52 Films by Women #3 and #4)

  1. Pingback: 52 Films by Women Update | The Sofa Cinephile

Leave a Reply

