My DVD Collection

There are a couple of reasons I did today’s post. Firstly, I’m kind of a nosy person so I always like peeking into people’s collections. Secondly, it’s been a while since I’ve been inspired to write about movies so I thought I would just share photos of my DVD collection, instead…(I was also inspired by a question on This Cinematic Life’s Facebook page about what your DVD collection looks like.) If any of the titles aren’t legible and you somehow desperately need to know what they are, just let me know! I’ve noticed a few of the spines have glare on them.

Movies A-B {Click to enlarge}

Movies B – more B {Click to enlarge}

Movies B-C {Click to enlarge}

Movies C-D {Click to enlarge}

The possibly illegible titles at the end are Dirty Shame, Disco Pigs, Doing Time for Patsy Cline, The Dolly Sisters and Donnie Darko.

Movies D-F {Click to enlarge}

The possibly illegible titles at the end are Forbidden Planet, Foreign Correspondent, Fried Green Tomatoes and From Hell.

Movies F-H {Click to enlarge}

Movies H-I {Click to enlarge}

Movies I-L {Click to enlarge}

The possibly illegible titles at top left include Interview with the Vampire, It Happened to Jane and It’s a Wonderful Life.

Movies L-N {Click to enlarge}

I Love Lucy boxset, movies N-P, Buffy the Vampire Slayer boxset {Click to Enlarge}

Movies P-R + overflow {Click to enlarge}

Movies R-S + overflow {Click to enlarge}

Movies S-Y {Click to enlarge}

Movies I’ve watched but haven’t put away/don’t have room for {Click to enlarge}

The ‘haven’t watched these yet’ shelf {Click to enlarge}

Movies I haven’t watched but don’t have room for on the ‘haven’t watched these yet’ shelf {Click to enlarge}

Boxsets, collections and a couple of documentaries/tv documentaries {Click to enlarge}*

And my Batman DVDS! {Click to enlarge}*

And then there’s my TV on DVD collection but this is a movie blog so…

I’m not usually the biggest fan of all photo posts but, as I said, I’ve not been in the mood for writing and thought I would share this just so the blog doesn’t die. Plus I have this (possibly weird) habit of staring lovingly at my DVD collection so it’s nice to share it? I always wonder if any of the films I own would surprise anyone (let me know if they did – I don’t believe in guilty pleasures so I’m not embarrassed by and of the films I like/own.) And I’ll extend the question posed by This Cinematic Life – what does your collection look like?

*These are the only parts of my movie collection that live in my bedroom. The rest is in the lounge. My TV on DVD collection is also in my bedroom (aside from the I Love Lucy and Buffy boxsets as pictured above.)

Edit: I also have the three Lord of the Rings extended edition boxsets, which aren’t pictured here…because they are currently propping up some books on my bookshelves. (Which is really inconvenient when I want to watch them.)

7 thoughts on “My DVD Collection

  1. GREAT shots. Becca and I were planning on doing something along these lines for next week and to encourage our readers to do the same. Since you beat us to the punch I’ll be sure to throw in a little shout out and link to your post. Bravo!

  2. I like owning movies, because for digital downloads you need a credit card, and I do not have access too one. So I will continue to purchase DVDs, Blu-Rays and CDs as well. Itunes recently deleted a few of my movies from my account which I was not aware of, even though I paid with gift cards. This is why I hate digital downloads, you own it for a few months, and they remove it. Never using digital services again!

  3. This is a pretty serious collection of movies. Biggest surprise to me is how you store them. My collection, quite considerable is stored not alphabetically but by type of genre, for instance my Rom-Coms are in one position and stored by type of rom-com, from heist or detective type to royal, to teen, and so on. My Comics related collection is split into Marvel, then DC, then Other, and Horror (surprisingly more than I thought considering I am not fond of the genre, and for some reason more movies about werewolves than you’d think existed). All DVD’s are bagged up as well to protect them from dust and dirt, packaging kept as new. DVD’s I have not yet watched are actually stored in boxes (far too many) and a few packed on the shelves, but left unsealed so I know I have yet to watch them. I also notice that you have few if any UK titles or movie series in your collection. Mine is heavy in that regard. Also spy films and series like the James Bond Collection, seem to be absent, as does any films pre-sixties (you have one or two, but not many). Otherwise you actually have more than a few I do not have (mostly in the Drama Film area, also not a favourite genre) but seem lacking in some other areas (Fantasy, Detective, SF). Each to their own. And like me you probably go to watch something, and have such a wide choice that by the time you have made up your mind you have cold food, or whatever.

  4. P.S. I’d love to see your TV series sets too. If you’ve already posted that, a link on this page would have been helpful. Bit envious of the fact your Buffy collection is in a tin box. Mine is in a cardboard slipcase. 😉

Leave a Reply

